Poetry (115)

Hello Escritori,

This poem was achieved using various audacious filchings from a range of different places, given a slight twist. I hope I get the atmosphere right. The more extraverted I’m required to be at work: to challenge, clarify or subdue the high energy of others in the internship; the more and more drawn I am to analysing the quality of a person’s silent stillness.

It can tell you a lot about a person. It helps you try them on like a jacket in all kinds of different fabrics per person. I’m sure actors know what I mean.

Some people – you try on their quiet, and you put your hands deep into the pockets of them – to feel the edges from the inside and you feel almost immediately secure. Others you know are just being quiet because they’re not listening, merely preparing their argument and response. You can see them, making tiny, frenetic, micro-twitches.

Some people, you feel out in a handshake – different contours – much more immediate than sitting inside their silence in an abstract way.

I really like Keanu Reeves when he’s just sitting and not talking in an interview. I feel like he is actually listening, and internalising an awful lot, ready to engage, and be impressed and humbled by human uniqueness. Happiness is the work of a moment, contentment is an attitude.

ember-ivory-431240

Weekend Vows

In the actions it inspires

There love resides

As powerful as an exodus

Yet as intimate

As a lullaby.

I was not always in your life.

 

Will you pay me in

The knowledge

And the memories

Of your yesterdays,

To buy

A tomorrow of some kind?

 

It’s nothing you’ve done

Or employed,

Merely the fact that you’ve deployed

A subtle, strengthening, emotional alloy

The soul-anchoring joy

Of being understood.

 

The turmoil love seeds within us

Is a germination achieved

In the midst of restlessness.

Quiet. Let’s just… be. Us.

Stay here, now.

Amid the incidental susurations

Of turning pages,

Which tickle

When they brush your arm.

 

I need you to hear

My weekend vow

Where, anon

The offer of tea

And more of the

Sofa comforter

Is an expression

Of a fidelity

Which you acknowledge gently

Though neither of us will move;

Wanting to prolong serenity.

 

The neat, round

Wholesome sound of the clock,

And the smell of your coffee

Invigorates this introverts Eden

For you and me.

 

I have made my vow

And look, beseechingly up.

 

You raise an eyebrow

Over a softened eye

Smile in spite of yourself

And say so much.

 

(© Copyright Pola Negri, 12/11/2017.)

Photo by Ember + Ivory on Unsplash

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.