Poetry (100)

Hello Escritori,

Today is the day of the Big 100!  A Sunday Poetry milestone indeed.

Thank you to everyone who stumbles upon my colourful corner of the internet.

The Scholar’s Ink

Before I sleep, I entreat

You for your protection

In my voluntary vulnerability.

 

I entrust the sword of my pen to you

And the music of my fingertips

Writ with letters, not notes.

 

I entrust those mumbled couplets

Said to walls stained with moonlight

In the blue-dark when I drift

In and out of sleep:

Those fragmented

Fractals of independent genius

That fade, more dreamlike

Than dreams.

 

Sometimes never again recalled or seen

Evanescent in a lunar gleam.

 

When I am weary

Be with me, oh Allah

In the fragrance of their vapour.

 

A weary scribe needs this mercy

For even if her hands at peace

Seem curled for war,

This gentle readiness is

The ease of a warrior’s sleep.

 

One who tempers justice with mercy

Acts as a witness in transactions

And offers a defence with eloquence

And coolness of temper:

Who gives form to the words of another

Contractually,

Verbatim and faithfully.

What God taught in the use of the pen

They action, loyally

And beautify with calligraphy.

 

When a scribe sleeps

At night in complete

Inaction and ease

It is because they have

Discharged with excellence

All of their duties.

Making all in a record

Right with God

And humanity;

 

Not unlike those

Honourable

Angelic scribes

That record our deeds

For eternity.

 

(© Copyright Pola Negri, 07/07/2017.)

 

2 thoughts on “Poetry (100)

Leave a Reply

