Poetry (91)

Hello Escritori,

I am slowly becoming a “baby person”. This seems to be a slower process that being a “cat person” or a “dog person”, and I am ready for women who are mothers to be up in arms about this poem for being overly romantic and inauthentic because I have not had a child: but I wrote it anyway.

REMINDER that I will be very rarely on the blog during Ramadan and may not be likely to respond to any comments posted. Thank you for your patience.

IMG_0953

Pax Materna

It is as simple as this:

We have decided to take half my heart

And half of yours

Whether one is akin to a bird in a cage

And the other a sparking flint

Or a luscious pomegranate

We have decided to fuse it

By some alchemy

In another body,

altogether.

 

Our heart, now a strange

Submarine wing-beat,

A pulse.

Inside me, with little feet.

 

Although now it has feet

And a heart, it can just as easily

Run away, as soon as it has learned how.

Independent flight

Is indeed the right

Of this bizarre

Temporarily amphibious creature.

 

But for now I must

Lull it on waves of

Debussy’s water-music

Ensuring that nothing

Will ever distress

The solemnity

of its breathing rest.

 

(© Copyright Pola Negri, 23/05/2017.)

2 thoughts on “Poetry (91)

  1. I can’t call myself a mother or a “baby person” but I thought your poem was beautiful all the same! There is a certain romance to creating a new life that I think you’ve captured perfectly. Ramadan Mubarak!

    Like

Leave a Reply

