Talking Wordy

Hello Escritori,

Today’s post will most likely not be a long one, mainly because I’m throwing this one open to you all. A little audience participation if you will… we’ll have a hoot.

IMG_0529.JPG

I had the strange experience last Friday of seeing a person from one context, in a completely different context. I had to keep staring just to make sure I was looking at someone my brain recognised and knew, but it wasn’t a drastic change, just unexpected.

Thinking about it now, it must be exactly how people feel when they see celebrities in Real Life, or that sensation of displacement every child feels when they see a teacher out of school, in the street, or the supermarket and feel puzzled as to why they are away from their professional home.

So I wondered (after realising that I did know the person) whether there is a word for that temporary displacement in recognition? Either that, or some neurological explanation for the phenomenon?

If anyone knows what the word for the above concept is, do please let me know in the comments as I am sure one exists, in some language or other, probably German, French or Japanese.

I look forward to being re-armed with language and therefore not left wordless and feeling feather-brained.

Keep scribbling,

~ Pola ~

2 thoughts on “Talking Wordy

  1. I’ve experienced this from the other side. Having worked in shops for years, I can pass a regular customer on the street and they won’t recognise me without the counter in front of me, cutting me off at the legs! I think it’s something to do with the way the brain processes information, bundling it up in our memories – we always see that face at the doctor’s surgery (that face = doctor’s) so when part of that equation is removed we have to find a different route to accessing where we know the face from.
    This isn’t the right word, but I found the word Prosopagnosia, which is the medical condition of face blindness, where some sufferers struggle to recognise even people they know well. Good word 🙂
    https://insideperspectives.wordpress.com/sensory/prosopagnosia/

    Like

  2. Indeed, very interesting thanks… Ah, true, the same with uniforms sometimes, people will see the uniform before the person in it.

    Hmm, I definitely think you’re on the right neurological track with having to reconnect maybe memory-spatial pathways? Vair interestink!

    Like

Leave a Reply

