Foodie Thoughts

Hello Escritori,

Until Monday I was unfortunately suffering with the stomach bug that is doing the rounds. I also think that there’s something about the sun, rain and fluctuations in air pressure that I feel particularly oversensitive to.

After the upheaval of Storm Doris I felt quite happy that SOMETHING had arrived to shake things up and propel Spring in its wake – but apparently not. It’s more of the same in terms of sun and rain and not feeling quite right. I had a temperature for about three days and would fan myself until my teeth started to chatter and stop until I needed to cool down again.

I was not in a good way in short.

Last Sunday I went out for lunch with some family. Between ourselves, I don’t enjoy going out much to eat. This drives me to despair of all the eligible men who claim to be major foodies, incessantly craving adventures in gastronomy.

Does this make me a Human Mushroom? I don’t know, I’m just looking for a fungi!

img_0332

I don’t feel that you should go out to eat unless it’s an occasion – not least for economic reasons. The same can be said of those intrepid travellers of this world. I’d never detain them, I just think it likely I could never match them. This thrifty attitude to money is almost entirely inherited from my mother’s permanent state of shock over the retail pricing of comestibles.

In all honesty I was happier just going out to see the blossom and the crocuses…

I had a falafel burger, with red onion coleslaw and sweet potato fries. It was delicious and very filling. Elderflower reminds me of my birthday (which is imminent) and so I ordered some sparkling presse as a taste of the spring I’m still waiting for.

img_0333

Despite the somewhat bleak tone of this post I’d urge you all not to fret as I am on the mend! I’ve finished making my decorations and the main structure of a selfie frame that I am not quite sure how to decorate yet. As ever with the fripperies of pomp and party-hood, you want it to look good, but you also don’t want to cry at the prospect of throwing it in the recycling at the end of the night.

When I was at the theatre I remember lavishly praising a Set Designer for his work: creating a detailed set on a revolving stage.

“Thanks,” he said, “at the end of the run we’ve got to pull it to bits and recycle as much as possible.” There was something unique about the blend of pragmatism and creativity in that statement that I admired, even as I lamented the inexorable destruction of beauty.

I feel the same way about cake.

Enough with the existentialism however…

A final piece of good news is that I have poetry ready for this weekend for all you lovely, patient people that missed it last week. Apologies for the hiatus, but thankfully all is now well.

Keep scribbling,

~ Pola ~

Leave a Reply

