Poetry (71)

Hello Escritori,

Happy New Year!

Recently there was a poetry-reading as part of a gallery exhibition that I was too late to contribute to as a reader. I simply missed the deadline, so I ended up mind-mapping a poem “to order” – something I rarely do – and then found it was no longer needed.

The two main themes were Materiality and Virtual Reality. I do feel a bit like I’ve just thrown words on a wall… but this is what happens when I think about things on paper, not my head. I thought it might be interesting to see if there’s any difference in the end result. I seem to be having a problem with stanza spacing… I hope it doesn’t dissuade you from reading.

20160825_091244

Materiality

Materiality is defined as

Being composed of matter:

Matter, which is largely granular.

But how does one reconcile,

When the conversation turns:

To angels and automata,

Ectoplasm,

Dualism

And simulacra?

A nexus of hexagons

Like the hive of a bee

Gives a Michelangelo physicality

To computer generated imagery.

It takes one more step

In the persistence of vision

To present Virtual Reality.

Through every facet of humanity

Like restless and beautiful mercury

Runs our fascinating

And constant inconstancy.

I think, therefore I am.

To be, or not to be.

(© Copyright Pola Negri, 15/12/2016.)

Leave a Reply

