Poetry (70)

Hello Escritori,

Ages ago I read Erin Morgenstern’s first book The Night Circus. I vaguely liked it for escapism purposes, but felt that it could do with a hefty edit. However, within those pages was an imagination that you’re slightly in awe of.

It has lashings of (purely aesthetic) Victoriana, heavy fantasy and old school magic but is undone by trying to be too many things to too many people. I felt sad for it, and then somewhat happier to find that Erin’s blog is arguably better than her book.

For this Sunday’s poem I have been inspired by her last blog entry where she was gently lamenting moving out of Manhattan. Here is a Christmas romance.

Merry Christmas Escritori!

After a Manhattan in the City

I can’t believe

I am walking up Park Avenue

Hand in hand with you,

in the sugar plum dark

Of Winter

With the trees so sparkling

Although they are stark

Especially since

You are so handsome

And erudite

And clever

And we only met this Summer

At Shakespeare in the Park!

And

You know…

Did you?

Do you know this?

See? I have mistletoe

In my pocket

So…

Let’s kiss.

And don’t be modest

Or obtuse:

I love that you’ve been waiting

(Like a gentleman)

For an excuse.

(© Copyright Pola Negri, 12/12/2016.)

Leave a Reply

