Bitten by Book Lust

Hello Escritori,

Despite reading other books from libraries since my last purchase of The Witches of Cambridge which I reviewed here… I have been craving something more Period, or Second Wave Steampunk. Or at least ‘steampunk light.’

Enter former archaeologist and *whispers* YA writer Gail Carriger. She of the amazing vintage wardrobe, zany humour and lovely accent.

20160815_120712-1

I am suffering sheer book lust for Soulless her first book in the Parasol Protectorate series; clips of which I’ve avidly listened to in poor sound quality author readings. I’ve read so many Goodreads reviews and seen so many Youtube ones that it’s basically like that point in life where your best friend and her crush are so disgustingly RIGHT for each other that you just want to smush their heads together and push them into a taxi headed for the nearest nice hotel.

(Thank me later Guys. Have fun swinging from the chandeliers!)

And here’s my rationale for why I should buy this book:

I owned a printed reproduction of a painted-paper parasol as a child, which I loved passionately, even though it was ripped. I still want to buy another (perhaps lace) parasol because my abnormal South Asian skin still manages to burn and not tan. Also hats and hijab look ridiculous. Parasol any day.

It’s totally feasible to create a group called The Parasol Protectorate because whilst at The Fashion Museum in Bath, I saw an accessory called ‘a parasol whip’ as mentioned in Little Women. This is a parasol with a canopy, but flip  it the other way and tuck it under your arm and the handle, (designed more akin to a riding crop) can be used to spur on your gee-gee. Imagine the defence and espionage capabilities…

20160803_133421-1

Carriger has been called a hybrid of Austen and P.G. Wodehouse, which I’ve often had said of myself actually, by people who have only ever read my emails. I hope therefore that we have the same sense of humour, strictly for fun purposes.

I really like (literary) vampires because I imagine when you’d been around for a few hundred years, you’re actually worth talking to and falling for: dietary requirements and necrophilia aside, and I don’t mean Edward Cullen. He of the unspeakable sparkle. 

I have nightmares featuring real ones quite a bit which are terrifying. Hi to Lynn Love, you know what I’m talkin’ about. 🙂

Lastly… I just need some witty fluff and it’s always lovely to let someone else do all the work. Oh yes, Waterstones gift card… I’ve got your number. 

Needless to say I shall review it forthwith for all of you if acquired. Ordered it yesterday!

Keep scribbling,

~ Pola ~

2 thoughts on “Bitten by Book Lust

  1. You were on a “dry humor” rampage today. Laughed out loud like three times. “He of the unspeakable sparkle . . .”
    Thanks for the book recommendation, by the way. I’d never heard of that particular author, it’ll be interesting to look into. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

