Top Ten Things some Writers do at Work

Hello Escritori,

Good news! I’ve had a week extension on my contract at the book shop (joy to the world!) so I’m working to see in the New Year.

Also, since I am working on Christmas Eve I have decided, as I sometimes do when busy, to release Thursday’s post this evening instead, so I can get on and do all my Real World Things.

Now we all know work can get a bit boring and repetitive although the novelty of working at the book shop hasn’t really worn off for me yet, despite long Christmas hours…

Merry Christmas all you lovely people who take the time to read my ramblings!

Everyone loves a gratuitous snow-globe. Right?

20151216_102249-1

Here is a list of interesting things I do at work as a writer to make the non-interesting things far more exciting.

  1. People watching. Obsessively. And complimenting customers on anything but their books. Their coat, their hair, their seasonal jumpers and exquisite manicures…
  2. Reading on the sly and stealing all the best sounding phrases for your own writing.
  3. Playing bin basketball against all my colleagues over long distances.
  4. Recycling the names of the people who are on the ‘Orders’ shelf and creating book characters to go with them.
  5. Pretending I am a theatre actress and that the counter is a stage balcony.
  6. Pretending I am a film actress on set and the formulaic lines that I have to trot out to every customer in a familiar sing song rhythm are just the guys “needing another take.”
  7. Pretending I am a film actress on a press junket whom with every new interviewer/customer must preserve the same level of energy and graciousness when being asked questions about books.
  8. Pretending I am a successful writer with my own massive stack of books on a table just like everyone else on the shelves and that people will say: “I knew her once, she was really nice to me…”
  9. Spying out people speaking in different languages so that I can make them feel at ease by speaking the same.
  10. Bantering, chatting to customers and trying out one-liners.

Hope that was in some way amusing! I realise I tend to dream about being an actress a lot. Seems to be the best way to get out of tough situations – acting. Have a good one and I’ll see you on the Sunday poetry post.

Keep scribbling,

~ Pola ~

Leave a Reply

